ES - 5th Gen (2007-2012) Discussion topics related to 2007+ ES350

Dangerous Uncommanded acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-07, 03:59 PM
aeroengine
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Dangerous Uncommanded acceleration

I was watching my wife slowly (3-5 mph) approach our garage door when the car suddenly lurched forward and crashed into our garage door at 10-15 mph.

My wife who is a very skilled driver said her foot was hovering over the brake after transitioning from the throttle as the car was coasting toward th door. She jammed on the brake but couldn't get it stopped fast enough to keep from hitting the door. I'm a liscensed Professional mechanical engineer and own a drive a Ferrari F355 Spider for fun so I am very familiar with how a car suspension and body angle responds to acceleration and braking. It looked to me like the car launched but was immediately forced into a nose down attitude as my wife was despeately trying to stop. This all happened over a 15-20 foot space infront of the door. Unlike like the Audi problem of a few years ago had she mistakenly hit the throttle she would have never been able to hit the door in a nose down attitude and there wouldn't have been time to take her foot off the gas and onto the brake - as a result I had to believe her story - that it was an uncommanded acceleration. I immediately checked to see the pedal spacing and the gas and the break pedal are too far apart to have had an Audi problem (human factors). I called Lexus of Bellevue WA and they refused to acknowledge the problem. I then got onto the NHTSA website to see if there we any similar complaints. Turns out there have been 16 other similar incidents that have been reported some of them near fatal. Here is the link http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/pr...in/results.cfm