SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Fury Hath Been Spoken By The Lexus Gods

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-08, 01:17 PM
rykwebb
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Unhappy Fury Hath Been Spoken By The Lexus Gods

As a lesson, I am writing this up as a lesson to all the people who neglect their car's needs. Ever since I picked up my car, it has had some minor voltage issues, but SOME issues nonetheless. I thought it could be taken care of when I got more money, I'm a college student, more money doesn't exist.

So, my car is running today, then turned off, then when tried to start again, a poof of smoke came from the sub, through the back seat. The car was turning (meanwhile the stereo and sub were still working) but not starting. Tried to start it again after checking out the smoke, and nothing. No turn, no interior lights, no electric seats, no nothing.

This is what happens when you neglect electrical problems, don't let it happen to you, because right around tax return time and you want to go single, you cant because you have to fix this now...bad times.

PS- not to mention the sunroof is stuck fully open and windows down, and i live in the hood.

Any help on this would be appreciated but what my mechanic and I have deduced is either it grounded itself out somewhere or the system is fried, either way, the whole thing is getting redone with my tax return.
Old 02-14-08, 01:23 PM
andrewwake
Lead Lap

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

that sucks! the sunroof can be closed by taking off the interior dome/reading light and there is a manual crank in there. as for the windows, take off the door panels and push the windows up. so no electrical at all? check the heart of those components, the battery, then the fuses. if those are good, then have a fun time re-wiring the car and maybe even some ecus.
Old 02-14-08, 01:35 PM
surferlife
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

yeah, fun...lol after you get that thing all sealed up, cover it so it becomes less of a target.