Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Just finished waxing and its raining heavily... now what?

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-05, 05:21 PM
mb12345
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Just finished waxing and its raining heavily... now what?

Hello,

This was my very first attempt at claying/waxing my '97 ES300 which I had recently purchased. I have never done waxing a car before so I am a complete newbie at this. I live in a high rise building in a downtown area, so the parking lot of an automatic car wash was the only place available to me to do the work.

After the car wash, I used Clay Magic to clean the surface. Then applied 2 coatings on Meguiar's Cleaner wax, with a one hour break in between (I did the interior in that time). I know a lot of you would prefer the more professional method of using a paint cleaner, polish and pure wax, but given the fact that I had to do this in a car wash's parking lot, I couldn't have done that. Morever, since this was my first attempt, I didn't want to mess it up.

So after I finished the complete process, which took me 5 hours at a stretch, I returned home and it started raining heavily. Rain was not predicted in the forecast, else I wouldn't have done this today. Since it is raining barely less than one hour after applying the wax , will it completely ruin everything that I did? Does the wax take any time to "settle in" ? I would hate to see my effort go completely waste. What should I do after it stops raining? Would I have to redo the whole process again.?

Please advice. I had not factored the rain in my calculations

Thanks in advance.
Old 05-21-05, 06:27 PM
JellyBean
Lead Lap

Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts