Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Anyone know how to clean this?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-07, 09:49 PM
o2GS43o
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Anyone know how to clean this?

Anyone know how to clean this off my instrument cluster? I don't know what's on it... It just won't wipe off...

Old 02-27-07, 10:27 PM
Lexucan
Lexucanafer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

If you use a vinyl/rubber protectant such as 303-Aerospace on your dash, it can sometimes get oversprayed onto your cluster and is way hard to get it off. It seems the more you rub it, the more it just gets smeared around. I'm not an expert on this stuff so I'll leave it to the very knowledgable detailing pros in this forum to give you tips on what to use to remove it, if that's what it is. The only thing I can think of to try is maybe something which is formulated for clear plastics such as Meguiar's Plast-X.
Old 02-27-07, 10:45 PM
Dr.Zeus
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Quick question for o2GS43o. What is the consistency of the actual gunk or residue. Is it crusted over or is it still pliable? I would recommend first cleaning with dawn then go ahead and use a little rubbing alcohol to prep the surface. Then follow it up with some PlastX and see if it does the trick. From the pic it looks like dried up Armor All or interior dressing
Old 02-28-07, 05:58 AM
Guitarman

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Coming from a paint/body repair background, from the pattern I see it looks to me as if someone (prior owner?) tried rubbing it with something abrasive, like a ScotchBrite pad?

There may have been some silicone overspray on it or other marks they tried to remove, and tried the wrong way by making it worse.

If that's close to the case, some clear plastic polish such as Plexus or such is the ticket.

Whether it would be aggressive enough to bring complete clarity back is the question.

Good luck,