Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

First time Car Wash

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-07 | 11:26 AM
jimjaix
Lead Lap

Default First time Car Wash

Hi, I am a total noobie in car wash. NEVER done it before and I need some good advice and a list of items I need to purchase. I don't wanna wash out my paint of course. I got an IS 250 AWD, I just need to do the exterior. I am fine with the interior for now. Any help is greatly appreciated
Old 03-05-07 | 11:29 AM
PNice972
Lexus Test Driver

Grab a cup of your favorite drink, reading glasses [if you need such] and head on over to the Detail section of Club Lexus and do your research, there is no perfect set of items.
Old 03-05-07 | 12:18 PM
jimjaix
Lead Lap

Originally Posted by PNice972
Grab a cup of your favorite drink, reading glasses [if you need such] and head on over to the Detail section of Club Lexus and do your research, there is no perfect set of items.
After reading that post, I wanna hang myself. Let's put it another way, IF just IF i just dish wash soap with water and just clean it with microfiber towel, will that work? I know the result won't be that great but will I damage my car?
Old 03-05-07 | 12:25 PM
PNice972
Lexus Test Driver

Yes, do NOT use dish detergent to wash your car unless you plan on waxing it afterward. other wise, head on over to your local auto store and get some car wash soap.
Old 03-05-07 | 12:26 PM
acsan
Driver

I sure hope you're kidding...dish washing soap?
Old 03-05-07 | 12:30 PM
jimjaix
Lead Lap

Originally Posted by acsan
I sure hope you're kidding...dish washing soap?
I am so sorry lol I mean car wash soap hahaha, not dish my bad. so you think if wash my car with CAR wash soap and water, and then water down all the soap then use a microfiber towel to dry it, will it do a good job?