Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

New to detailing, need help

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-07, 02:51 AM
ByoungWoo
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to detailing, need help

Okay, so i've decided to start taking care of my car myself instead of paying someone $150 to detail the car everyone other month. I plan on buying a Porter Cable 7424/7336 and i've already got some wax (NXT in the bottle). As you can tell, i'm new to detailing cars. Can some of you guys give me any suggestions as to which pads and polishers I need to buy and where I can buy them? Should I use any other products on my car to make it look glossy? When do I do each step...I know you wash>clay>wax>polish....when do you apply the scratch removal products? Thank in advance.
-ByoungWoo

btw...do you guys think this is worth the money?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Porte...spagenameZWDVW

or should I just buy 3 extra polishing pads for $25

Last edited by ByoungWoo; 06-02-07 at 04:09 AM.
Old 06-02-07, 07:57 AM
VroomVroom
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

You actually wash > clay > polish > wax. Wax is always your final step. You can even add ones in between there if you'd like (i.e. 'glaze' and 'sealant' between 'polish' and 'wax'). In any case, the polish step is where your real work will lie. It'll remove the micromarring, swirl marks, and light scratches, leaving your finish ready for topcoat.

I'd recommend checking out www.autopia.org, www.autogeek.net, and www.properautocare.com. All great sites for learning about the PC, and they have pads, backing plates, etc.

For what it's worth, if you tell me the color of your car I'll be happy to recommend some products. In terms of pads, I really love the Lake County line. Their orange pad is my workhorse for polishing.
Old 06-02-07, 09:15 AM
GSteg
Rookie

Received 79 Likes on 61 Posts