Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Drought Issue

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-07, 11:15 AM
PPolisher
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Drought Issue

Background - I am a pro detailer - this is my lively hood - write up

For the last 6 weeks I have been conducting a couple of tests using my car – Betsy – as the testee

She has not been in the garage for this amount of time and has not been rinsed or washed either

Lots of dirt, dust, grime and other air borne nasties along with the dreaded oak tree sap bomblets

Dull, icky and sticky finish

Observing what had/has been happening with the water issue and guessing that it will be at least a year before we are able to wash our cars outside or inside using the hose again I had a dilemma – adapt and overcome the issue or go Out of business and back into the world of cubicles, fake wood business tables, meaningless meetings, blah, blah, blah

Plan of action was to research an alternative method to wash cars safely, economically, environmentally & most important – LEGALLY

The ONR arrived Friday and today I did the test inside the garage to see what this ONR is and how did the Meg’s #21 sealant that I use hold up to the elements and this washing product

I just finished washing Betsy using this new product for me called Optimum No Rinse Wash & Shine [ONR.]

I used 4 gallons of water purchased from Target and this product performed for me.

My expectations were medium – probably will clean the surface but I will instill micro swirls to the surface or worse

Expectations and reality were as different as night and day

I know every spec on the car and after finishing I whipped out that fancy light that shows me the surface and all paint issues – no micro swirls – no new issues - so cool

Wow, this stuff did the job and then some working on the brake dust