Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Porter Cable 7426 or UDM or Griots ?

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-07, 12:52 PM
bokmeipai
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Porter Cable 7426 or UDM or Griots ?

I am considering buying a Porter Cable 7424, UDM or Griots polishing machine any advice on which is better ? I am a beginner with no experience with a machine. Also need advice on what type of pad and polish to use to maintain my 2007 Lexus GS. Currently very well maintained with no scratches or swirl marks. After polishing should I buff with towel or machine?
Old 11-13-07, 01:17 PM
GSteg
Rookie

Received 79 Likes on 61 Posts

For the price, the UDM is very attractive. I've used both PC and the UDM. I like the built quality on th PC better, but the UDM has more power. Haven't used the Griot yet but it looks to be similar in terms of power and functionality. But I do hear complaints about the backing plates not being as versatile as the PC/UDM.

I personally rather stick to the tried and true PC. At the equivalent speed, the UDM vibrates more. It vibrates a hell lot more when you get to full speed. Plus I feel more comfortable with the quality of the PC than the UDM.

But dont take my word for it. There are a lot of other users out there who prefer one machine over the other.

Last edited by GSteg; 11-13-07 at 01:33 PM.
Old 11-13-07, 01:29 PM
bokmeipai
Pole Position

Originally Posted by GSteg
For the price, the UDM is very attractive. I've used both PC and the UDM. I like the built quality on th PC better, but the UDM has more power. Haven't used the Griot yet but it looks to be similar in terms of power and functionality. But I do hear complaints about the backing plates not being as versatile as the PC/UDM.