Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Just got shafted on a full detail

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-08, 04:44 PM
amorphous
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just got shafted on a full detail

For those of you that don't know me I've been detailing for 5 years in dealerships here in md. Anyways, I went to this guys house in va about an hour drive from my house to the guy. My sc isn't 100% at the moment so I rented a car to go to this guys house this past weekend to do this detail. I original told the guy my starting price is $100 and goes up from there (100 being wash+wax+interior clean). I get to the guy and he tells me price isn't a problem charge what I think is fair, so I don't consider discussing a price at the time (first mistake).

So I get there around 8:30 am, start detailing at 9. The car is a Porsche Boxter dark blue black interior. First I start off with washing the car. I clean the wheels inside the barrel and spokes and all. Then I remove all bugs from front bumper and caked on stuff on side skirts as well. I clean door jams and entire outside with Gold Class car wash. After that I bring it inside to work on the interior.

This guy leaves the top open all the time so there is a lot of pollen in the car. First I vaccumed the car using compressed air to get stuff I can't reach with vaccum. So thinking that he wants it perfect I go ahead and scrub the seats clean and door panels and everything else, I use a light to look at any spots I missed and took out all stains I find. After making sure car is spotless, I apply Lexiol all over vehicles interior, and I wipe it off with a dry rag (as it notes on the bottle). Again checking it with the light making sure I didn't miss anything and touching up the spots I missed. Clean the mats vaccumed again, double checked everything then moved on the the buffing.