Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

detailing noob here with a question

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-08 | 07:49 PM
jp350
Rookie

Default detailing noob here with a question

I recently was involved in a fender bender , anyhow when i went to pick up my car from the body shop, they told me that they put a coat of wax on the car (no clay or polish) as well as fixing the bumper damage. initially i was satisfied and with a quick visual inspection, the wax job appeared to be fine. when i got home, i ran my hand accross the finish and realized that it was fairly coarse, pretty much on the entire car (car was not repainted). any ideas as to what could have caused this? after reading some threads here it seems that claying the car would be the next logical step to hopefully remedy this problem? thanks in advance for any feedback on this matter folks.
Old 06-15-08 | 09:22 PM
eyezack87
Lexus Test Driver

Overspray from them painting other cars most likely. Get the Meguiar's clay kit and clay away the bumps
Old 06-16-08 | 02:25 AM
mysteryan
Lead Lap

Yup, does sound like overspray.
Old 06-16-08 | 04:42 AM
jp350
Rookie

thanks for the replies folks! one more question, assuming that the clay takes care of my problem, is it okay if i don't apply a sealant immediately after the claying? i don't own a buffer yet so i was thinking that i'd take the car some place to get a professional wax job so i could watch them to figure out proper techniques etc. i just don't trust myself yet!
Old 06-16-08 | 06:40 AM
LiCelsior
Retired
CL Folding 500000

after u clay, u can put a couple layers of wax. it'll give better protection compared to nothing at all.
Old 06-16-08 | 07:01 AM
B Dot
Intermediate