Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

newb here

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-08, 06:52 PM
JKA.nyc
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newb here

Hi everybody,

I'm a newb to the handwash, detailing world and was just wondering if there was a guide for amateurs like me? just got my first brand new car (IS350) and I'm dying to give it its first wash/wax but realized making it look its best is much more complicated than just washing it with shampoo and was wondering what the details were like what kind of towels i should use and what not...

thanks
Old 06-30-08, 07:34 PM
jfelbab

Received 58 Likes on 45 Posts

Originally Posted by JKA.nyc
Hi everybody,

I'm a newb to the handwash, detailing world and was just wondering if there was a guide for amateurs like me? just got my first brand new car (IS350) and I'm dying to give it its first wash/wax but realized making it look its best is much more complicated than just washing it with shampoo and was wondering what the details were like what kind of towels i should use and what not...

thanks
Try this thread.
https://www.clublexus.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=357795
Old 06-30-08, 08:39 PM
bsims_01
Rookie

Also, check out autopia.org. There are tons of "how to" threads from proper washing techniques to machine polishing, etc. There is also tons of info on different products.
Old 07-01-08, 05:10 AM
Chris@GlimmerGlass
Lexus Test Driver

The link Jim posted is pretty good and gives you a good foundation For drying, I always use microfiber waffle weave drying towels. Usually takes 2 to get a vehicle completely dry.
After reading Jim's post, let us know what other questions you might have. Theres obviously an array of different products that you can use as well and everyone will have their favorites
Old 07-01-08, 10:03 AM
JKA.nyc
Pole Position