Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Automatic Buffer - Clarification

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-08, 08:01 AM
luxury1
Lexus Test Driver

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Automatic Buffer - Clarification

I have been reading a lot of posts about the automatic buffers and want to summarize to make sure that I understand it correctly.

I wax my cars 3-4 times a year but do it by hand. I understand that the machine will do a much better job and remove many of the swirl marks that are present on my paint.

I have never used a buffer before but from reading it sounds like the Ultimate Detailing Machine (or UDM) can be safely used by just about anyone.

Is all of this correct?

Also, if the Ultimate Detailing Machine is the best way to go, where would be the cheapest place to get one?

Finally, someone mentioned the Porter Cable DA Polisher, is this any better or worse than the UDM???

Thanks!
Old 08-03-08, 08:40 AM
SpecC
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i don't know anything about dual action polishers, but from what you understand, here's what I can tell you.

Yes your buffers can remove swirl marks but with certain product/pad combination. That's more reading for you to do haha

the UDM and PC7424 are the most popular choices by far for dual action polishers in that price range. They do have a LOT of trouble doing paint correction though. If you want some more powerful and still dual action, get the Flex 3401.

Now the other type of polisher is the rotary polisher. It can burn paint and many people will tell you to get something else, but I started out with this and I turned out fine with paint correction and stuff. This is more reading too!

As for applying wax, it's not a big deal. The machine will spread it more evenly, but it's not going to be a huge difference in shine.
Old 08-03-08, 08:45 AM
Chris@GlimmerGlass
Lexus Test Driver