Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Efficacy of Car Waxes and Sealants

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-08 | 09:53 PM
omniskye
Rookie

Default Efficacy of Car Waxes and Sealants

please forgive the ignorance since i'm completely new to car detailing.....

i just did my first BASIC detailing job this past weekend: wash (meg's gold class), polish (klasse AIO), seal (klasse high gloss sealant) - skipped the clay bar since it wasn't needed.

my question is: even though most waxes and sealants say they last for a LOOOOONG time, especially the Klasse high gloss sealant which states 1 year........ how do they really last that long. i mean, i KNOW they're overstating the durability, but let's just say any carauba wax or any sealant like klasse.......wouldn't rain just wash it off in a matter of a day? wouldn't a car wash also wash it off immediately? seems strange that it could stay on for months.

intuitively, i would think that a car wash itself or even a couple of hours of rain would just "wash off" the wax or sealant completely.
Old 09-22-08 | 10:02 PM
Dogmeat
Driver

well when you see still see the water bead that is a good indicator that the wax/sealant is still doing its job. I like the err on the side of caution and wax every 2-3 months anyways.
Old 09-22-08 | 10:18 PM
Kaydee
Hacked CL to become a Mod

water beading is your indication. Sealant lasts longer (mine almost a year, diminishing results of course). Wax run me about 1-2 months. It rains here a lot
Old 09-23-08 | 05:12 AM
Chris@GlimmerGlass
Lexus Test Driver