Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Swirl Removal Process

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-08 | 06:01 AM
luxury1
Lexus Test Driver

Default Swirl Removal Process

So I am getting ready to detail my car ('04 RX330) mainly to get rid of swirls and attempt to remove a few scratches. I think I understand the process but wanted to verify.

1. I plan on washing and then claying the car.
2. I plan to use a light cut orange pad with 3M rubbing compound over the car where the swirl marks reside. I plan to use my PC7424 at a low speed and light pressure since this is my first time using it.
3. I then will use a swirl remover polish.
4. Then I will use a zaino wax

Did I get it all right or am I missing something?
Old 12-07-08 | 06:44 AM
jfelbab

Originally Posted by luxury1
So I am getting ready to detail my car ('04 RX330) mainly to get rid of swirls and attempt to remove a few scratches. I think I understand the process but wanted to verify.

1. I plan on washing and then claying the car.
2. I plan to use a light cut orange pad with 3M rubbing compound over the car where the swirl marks reside. I plan to use my PC7424 at a low speed and light pressure since this is my first time using it.
3. I then will use a swirl remover polish.
4. Then I will use a zaino wax

Did I get it all right or am I missing something?
What 3M product are you planning on using. 3M Perfect-It ll Fine Cut Rubbing Compound? Pretty good but often leaves the finish with some marring. I'd likely start with the 3M Finesse-It II Machine Polish and see how the paint reacts. If you need to use the rubbing compound you might find that you need to finish up with the finessing polish and pad, especially if you have a black or dark colored car.

There are a few good YouTube videos of the polishing process that show how this is done. Here is one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=89323lmQ2LI