Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Detailing Newb Needs Direction...

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-09, 07:13 PM
Stage3
Lexus Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Detailing Newb Needs Direction...

Alright guys, here is an open mind for you to mold with what works best. I am a newb when it comes to detailing and need to know the basics for getting my paint to look better than it does now. I am not a TOTAL newbie when it comes to car care and I take the proper steps to make sure that the products I use on my paint won't make it worse than it may be. But, as of right now, I'm at my wits end when it comes to the finish of the paint. There is oxidation, swirls, bird poo etchings, scratches, etc. It's not from lack of care, but just lack of knowhow on how to make the situation any better. I have tried to use the elbow grease methods to get my paint to look better and sadly, it seems like a temporary fix. It makes the paint "shine" in the sun but under close inspection, the paint needs a lot of help. I have debated just getting the bad areas of the car repainted (still going to repaint certain areas that need them), but repainting something that can be fixed with a good detail is not really wise.

So, I come to you with an open mind. What do I need to do bring the life back to my paint? I have read numerous threads on the detailing forum and feel like I have good heading, but no CLEAR direction. I know I need to get my hands on a good power buffer/polisher/sander (Portercable or Makita), then where do I go from there? I was looking at buying the starter kit at Glimmerglass.com, but am not sure if that's everything that I would need for my situation.