Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Noob help: buying Porter Cable question

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-09, 09:30 PM
DOUS
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob help: buying Porter Cable question

I'm a noob at car detailing but would like to try it out on my Obsidian 10RX. The car is 1 month old and hardly have any swirls, but will need some waxing soon. I'd like to tackle this myself.

So far I bought Zanio brothers kit 1 and Leatherique's Pristine Clean and Rejuvinator Oil. I have these now, and just need a random orbiter to apply the wax/coatings. I hear the Flex is the best out there, but I just couldn't justify the price considering I'm a newbie and I wont be using it as often as I won't have the time to with 2 small kids.

I'm about to order the Porter Cable 7424XP Starter Kit from Detailed Image and was wondering if anyone has experience purchasing from this vendor.

Here's the kit.

Also what would you suggest in terms of pads I need? Is the selection from the kit good enough for a beginner or should I order more of any specific ones?

Thanks in advance!
Old 08-10-09, 09:37 PM
Chris@GlimmerGlass
Lexus Test Driver

Personally, I prefer the 5.5" pads on the PC. Additionally, I only use a purple foamed wool pad on the rotary. The most common pads you'll most likely use will be the orange, white and black pad. Hope this helps!
Old 08-10-09, 09:53 PM
DOUS
Pole Position

Originally Posted by Chris@GlimmerGlass
Personally, I prefer the 5.5" pads on the PC. Additionally, I only use a purple foamed wool pad on the rotary. The most common pads you'll most likely use will be the orange, white and black pad. Hope this helps!
sent you a PM
Old 08-10-09, 11:46 PM
Chris@GlimmerGlass
Lexus Test Driver

Replied
Old 08-11-09, 10:46 AM
varcity64
Lexus Champion

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts