Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Volk Lip polishing help

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-10, 12:53 PM
Gator Alum
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thumbs down Volk Lip polishing help

Hey everyone-

Well, I made the mistake of allowing the dealership to wash my car and now my volk GT-S wheels look awful. My exact wheels can be found here.

I am new to the whole polished lip thing. I am curious what the best way is to keep them nice and clean/shiny/in good shape. Please keep in mind that I'm an amateur so I do not have all the tools you guys might have. Would simple Mequiar's mad/aluminum polish be the way to go?

I could definitely use some of your expertise though!
Old 06-28-10, 02:21 PM
Jetfire
Royale with cheese

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

if the entire wheel is clearcoated, just get a good wheel cleaner like p21s or sonax.

same as above if the lips are not clearcoated. then you can use the meg's mag/aluminum polish to keep the the lips looking good.

apply sealant afterwards.
Old 06-28-10, 03:22 PM
Gator Alum
Driver

How can I tell if the wheels are clearcoated?
Old 06-28-10, 04:25 PM
Angelo
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You can test to see if your wheels are coated or not, take a mild metal polish and lite rub in a small hidden area first, if it turns black, then its not coated. If it does not turn black then it is coated.
Old 06-28-10, 04:43 PM
One HoT
Lexus Fanatic

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

You can't polish volk lips. they are clearcoated from the factory.
Old 06-29-10, 07:38 AM
MoeMistry
Former Sponsor

Originally Posted by Gator Alum
Hey everyone-

Well, I made the mistake of allowing the dealership to wash my car and now my volk GT-S wheels look awful. My exact wheels can be found here.