Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Painting car ( prep stage)

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-10, 02:01 PM
Is300Tree2
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Painting car ( prep stage)

Im in the prep stage of painting my 1st gen GS. I am starting with 220 grit and going over the whole car. The car has lots of minor scratches and a few medium depth ones. No major body work. Any tips or recomendations? Just wanna get feedback from some experienced painter as im a Mechanic not a painter lol. Im really trying to do a quality job.
Old 08-31-10, 02:26 PM
Is300Tree2
Pole Position

Also I am using a power sander and so far a few spots have gotten past the primer to bare metal....is that ok? I planned on 1 layer of grey primer.
Old 09-01-10, 12:14 PM
Is300Tree2
Pole Position

Bump...still waiting. Just talked to me paint guy at my old job ...lexus of towson... and he said its fine to just make sure I primer of the metal areas well. Anyone else have any tips? Do i need to sand the entire car? Or just make sure the whole thing is smooth.
Old 09-01-10, 02:18 PM
Guitarman

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

From the description of the old paint, 220 is way too coarse, which is getting you into trouble and breaking through the primer.

Normally, with no major bodywork present, you want 400 at the lowest prior to basecolor, but I'd prefer to see you use 600.

Unfortunately, now you're going to have to use a primer/ surfacer, because those areas you went thru to metal will need to be filled and feathered out to the old paint, otherwise, you WILL see undulations and layering when you paint over them. Also, 220 sanding scratches will usually show through the basecoat...sorry, that's just the way it is.