Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Detailing Business Market?

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-11, 07:21 PM
TLcoats
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Detailing Business Market?

I'm throwing around some numbers and contemplating on starting a detailing business. I've searched my area and there is plenty of competition but my target niche would be great quality for really LOW prices. I'm a part time college student right now waiting to transfer for a full time load in two years. I have a PASSION for car, so creating a win-win situation where i could work around cars all day and provide enough money for me during the two years i'm at school here would be a dream. In addition, I have the work ethic and potential to make more money through a entrepreneurial company like this rather than work a minimum wage job somewhere else.

Should i try and pursue this option of course with a little more research? Or am i in a market that's already so saturated past the point were i could make a definite profit outside of family, friends and neighbors? Of course there's start up costs with such a business and i'm prepared to spend between $5-$10k in supplies, any expertise i need to learn and marketing myself as word of mouth will be a majority of my business. May long term goal would be to get in a solid commercial building where customers could drop the car off, but until then would washing at their residence or mine suffice?

Is there a potential for a hard working 18 year old to make some money in this business? That's all i would like to know.

Thanks for the help! And sorry if this is the wrong section to post such a business related question. But i assumed it met the forum criteria for the Detailing Section.
Old 05-04-11, 07:24 PM
ThomasGS4
Lexus Test Driver

Received 383 Likes on 225 Posts

Show us a few examples of your work.
Old 05-04-11, 07:55 PM
97-SC300