Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

leather..

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-11, 03:48 AM
c-low
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default leather..

what is the best product to clean and condition? i have some spray from mothers, but im a noob to what "BEST" consists of with leather someone please shed some light.
Old 12-31-11, 07:58 AM
jfelbab

Received 58 Likes on 45 Posts

Originally Posted by c-low
what is the best product to clean and condition? i have some spray from mothers, but im a noob to what "BEST" consists of with leather someone please shed some light.
If you ask ten detailers you will get a dozen different answers. This is what works for me.

On my own leathers I use Leather Masters Leather Cleaner and follow with Leather Masters Protection Cream. I don't use conditioners as they leave a film on the leather which hastens the leathers soiling. Conditioners don't penetrate the leathers urethane top coating anyway and were originally designed for unprotected leathers and offer no protection against dye transfer or staining.

On the other vehicles I detail, I will usually use Woolite, (1:10 or 1:20 dilution) as suggested in the Lexus owners manual, which works well to clean most soiling.

I believe the process is important if you want to keep your leather looking like new for a long time.