Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

new to world of diy detailing

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-13, 04:38 PM
endo022
Driver

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default new to world of diy detailing

I'm new to this world so I thought I'd start out by asking for advice from the season pros here.

I got a 2013 Obisidian GS in December 2012. I've washed it a total of 2x (it's cold and rainy here in Seattle...cut me some slack LOL).

I'm rounding up supplies and equipment for a full detail job to get the GS ready for the nice sunny days that's coming up.

I noticed that there's a bunch of swirl marks on the paint most likely due to the dealer prep.
I've been reading up on all the different posts with the obsidian paint problems and how easy it scratches and swirls. Of all the different posts, everyone has a different way to going about treating and correcting the swirls. Some are detailers that do it for a living and some are DIYers.

My process (simplified):

Wash car with Chemical Guys Citrus Wash (to remove any layer of wax/polish that was applied by dealer)

Apply Compound to remove swirls.

Menzerna Fast Gloss Compound (FG-400)

Apply Polish to clean it up and shine it up.

Sonax Profiline Nano Polish 3/6

Apply Sealant to seal the gloss in.

Wolf's Hard Body

Equipment: I got a foam gun, two 5 gallon buckets and grit guards, sheepskin wash mitt and a Griot 6" Random Orbital Polisher (came with five 6.5" white pads), 2 waffle weave drying towels, sonax wheel cleaner

Other equipment that's needed or recommended:
Orange light cutting pads to apply the compound?
microfiber towels

Am I missing any other supplies/equipment to start this off on?

Thanks in advance for any tips/advice/recommendations!
Old 03-16-13, 12:08 PM
zmcgovern4
Auto Detailing Master

Received 93 Likes on 78 Posts