Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Wet Sanding

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-02, 03:21 PM
Jmai22
Lexus Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

what if i want to wet sand my entire car. my car had been repainted by the previous owner and it deon'st look too great. and i was told wet sanding would really help.
Old 12-27-02, 07:03 PM
Guitarman

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Wetsanding takes a bit of experience to pull off, especially for an entire car. If you're so unsatisfied with the paint as it is, and you can't afford to take it to a pro, well...here's a thread I wrote on it a while back, from a T-Bird forum (I own a "semi-classic" T-Bird Supercoupe too ). Just remember, it's risky!

http://pub29.ezboard.com/fthunderbir...icID=129.topic

I'm a pro detailer, and I have painted and wetsanded show vehicles, as well as my Supercoupe, so hopefully this info will help you. Good luck, Dan H

Email me if you need to ask anything further.

onequiksc@cfl.rr.com
Old 12-31-02, 05:47 AM
meZoom!
Super Moderator

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Jmai, you are NOT going to wetsand your car. I hate to dis-encourage you on this, but it is quite easy to go wrong somewhere, especially if you are doing the whole car. what color is your car/what kind of paint condition?

edit******
Guitarman: GREAT write up.

Last edited by meZoom!; 12-31-02 at 05:52 AM.
Old 12-31-02, 10:10 AM
LS4fun
Lexus Fanatic

That is an excellent writeup Guitarman...
I think it is best kept up to the pros.
Old 12-31-02, 04:24 PM
Guitarman

Default Thanks guys

I sure hate to discourage anyone but it's a given; don't risk learning on your "baby". Because you WILL make mistakes and end up worse off than you are now.