Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Paint Chip

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-21, 11:17 AM
dleex
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Paint Chip

Hey guys, this is my first post and I was wondering if you guys can help me out here. I found this forum to be a great resource of Lexus experts so I figured I'd give it a go.

So I just bought a used 2017 GS350 F Sport (loving it), but didn't notice this paint chip on the left side of the rear window. My fault obviously, the car has caviar paint so I missed it during the test drive and inspection. I was wondering how I should go about addressing it.

Since I bought it used from a dealer, I don't know what kind of coating or sealant has been applied to the car, and as a complete car newbie I'm not sure how I can tell. Honestly I am also having a hard time finding where the chip ends on the window side, as I cannot see or feel a border and it looks like it just magically blends in on that side somehow. I was wondering if someone could diagnose this via the pics attached. Would this count as a severe paint chip that has gone down to the metal? I read up and there seems to be many layers to a paintjob. Can I remedy with touch up paint or is this something a professional needs to do?

Honestly visually it doesn't bother me all that much, it blends in with the rest of the paint for the most part but Id rather it not be there lol. I primarily don't want it to rust/spread and would like to apply a sealant to the car and don't want this to prevent me from doing so. Appreciate any inputs you guys might ​​​​​​ have for me.

Old 01-13-21, 11:56 AM
BMGS
Racer

Received 550 Likes on 338 Posts

That looks like non-oem clear coat failure. Was the car damaged in a collision and repainted?
Old 01-13-21, 12:04 PM
dleex
Driver School Candidate