Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.
View Poll Results: Should you be able to order what you want?
Yes, I only want to pay for what I want.
75.00%
Yes but with some concessions.
16.67%
No, I'll buy what's on the lot regardless of price.
0%
Don't really care.
8.33%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

Ordering a New Lexus product

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-23, 06:28 AM
YumpinYiminy
Pit Crew

Received 41 Likes on 35 Posts
Cool Ordering a New Lexus product

I've been buying new Toyotas for over 20 years. Just bought my 1st Lexus (11/30/2023 ES 350).
I was rudely surprised that Lexus does not take custom orders. Then why do they have a build your Lexus website? Why am I getting different stories from dealers. They say I can't custom order but I can put a reserve build request with a deposit. Yet the car may or may not ever be built. They also wanted sticker price to place a build order. They can check if any close dealer have an allocation close to what I want. Then they can't because the computer system is down. Ya - bla, bla, bla.
Which story or stories are correct?
The worse thing is that the day after I purchased the car I didn't really want. The dealer in the next city had the exactly the car I wanted with color and options in transit. Only difference was it was a 300h vs a 350. I could have compromised.

Lexus is so proud of their "Lexus owner experience". I should be able to buy the car I want for this kind of money.
History: