Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

General Car Conversation 2024 - part 1

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-24, 06:32 AM
link13
Lead Lap

Received 45 Likes on 39 Posts

Originally Posted by bitkahuna
your job shouldn't be at risk because of what you drive. renting a car to fake what you drive is lame. you do you.
It’s a good point. I don’t think my leadership team would penalize me for having a V8 car. We have a global senior VP who has a Maserati and he told us he also has a Tesla 3 because the house he just bought in Germany came with it. He either retired at the end of June or he’s retiring at the end of this month. He’s been very involved with F1 teams and on the oil and fuel side of the business, which is the primary business.

Renting an EV could be a good experience and case study for me. I am a technical writer and I am responsible for documentation our SaaS which our customers need to know how to load balance, determine how you manage energy distribution from chargers, and how to interpret charging status data. I love the job. It’s interesting and challenging. The technology is evolving rapidly.

I am supportive of EVs. I just don’t want one yet. I don’t have to get a gas guzzling V8 but I really do like the IS500. mmarshall is exactly correct about the need to build out the grid. While CA was quick to proclaim an EV mandate in 2035, there has been zero urgency in fortifying the grid. There are more charging stations and most near me are Tesla. That means there is more demand on the grid, but without getting energy to those stations, they are not useful. We have one nuclear power plant in Diablo Canyon and there are plans to shutter that in a few years. I don’t see an obvious plan to power the CA grid moving forward and having a plan is critical.
Old 07-10-24, 07:18 AM
LexBob2
Lexus Champion

Received 139 Likes on 113 Posts