Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Mazdaspeed MX-5 test drive

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-04, 05:54 PM
jhenty
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mazdaspeed MX-5 test drive

I just test drove the mazdaspeed mx-5 (miata) and let me say that it is a blast to drive. The turbo kicking in and the great sound of the blowoff valve and performance muffler is music. Handling is also unbelieveable. I was most surprised by the very comfortable seats, the interior build quality, and the great ride. Overall this vehicle is an amazing drive. This is my first time in a turbo car and now I'm hooked. Price isnt bad either $26,000. Racing heart wheels, bose sound, smoked headlights, new front bumper. They are very limited production too. The only downside I guess is that it still looks like a miata. (nothing wrong with that but I love originality.) Well Just wanted to know everyone opinions on the car and I recommend a test drive if you can!
Old 05-20-04, 06:13 PM
MrIan
Lexus Test Driver

The mazdaspeed is what the miata needed all along. A turbo in such a light car should make for a fun ride! I drove my friend's 96 miata and i gotta say, it handles so nicely. Only thing is that it had no power and the interior was really small(and i'm only 5' 10"). I love convertables(1st one i ever drove or rode in) and the miata would make a great weekend car. Would be horrible driving that thing around everyday considering that theres no trunk space and theres so many SUVs out there(i'm nervous even in my rsx), but if u have daily driver, then the miata would be a great car to get, especially the mazdaspeed model. Maybe go check out the toyota mr2, the honda s2000, and maybe wait for a lotus elise(haha..significantly more expensive than the others but well worth it)?
Old 05-20-04, 06:25 PM
jhenty
Pole Position

I'm driving an MR-2 now, I'd love the lotus, that thing is amazing.
Old 05-20-04, 06:45 PM
MrIan
Lexus Test Driver