Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Check out Honda's New I-Vtec I..... 65:1 A/F ratio

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-04 | 07:36 PM
LexAnt
Lexus Champion

Default Check out Honda's New I-Vtec I..... 65:1 A/F ratio

http://world.honda.com/HDTV/news/2003-4031127a/

since i'm not too keen on much of these terms, i was completely lost... if someone could put it in lame man's terms that be awesome.
Old 12-02-04 | 09:03 PM
Stage3
Lexus Fanatic

CRIMENY!!!!! 65:1!!!!!! forget about putting FI on that car.... first time you turn it on... KABOOOMMM!!

i bet that car gets like 40mpg...
Old 12-02-04 | 09:18 PM
jet864
Lexus Champion

Yeah I was gonna say, a bit lean.

I'm not a pro so forgive if I make some mistakes. A/F is the ratio of air to fuel in the engine. I'm thinking under forced inductioin conditions the ideal ratio is 12:1. That being 12 times as much air as fuel. If you run too lean you'll get detonation/knocking=BAD things for the engine. Basically under the situation where it's 65:1 they're hardly using any fuel at all.

I think it's pretty interesting how they vary the time in the stroke where the fuel is injected i.e. it's usually during the intake stroke but by doing it on the compression stroke it ensures (when combined with direct injection and that special piston) cleaner burning and more efficient burning of fuel. That's all I'm gonna say before I screw up some more. I hope I'm not too far off.

James
Old 12-02-04 | 10:58 PM
RTIS250
Yes. I drove the LFA.
CL Folding 500000

Originally posted by jet864

I'm not a pro so forgive if I make some mistakes. A/F is the ratio of air to fuel in the engine. I'm thinking under forced inductioin conditions the ideal ratio is 12:1. That being 12 times as much air as fuel. If you run too lean you'll get detonation/knocking=BAD things for the engine. Basically under the situation where it's 65:1 they're hardly using any fuel at all.