Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

TRIBUTE THREAD!! 2JZ, you will be missed!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-05, 08:34 PM
LexFather

Default TRIBUTE THREAD!! 2JZ, you will be missed!!

Now forgive me as I am not an expert on this engine. I hope those that are con contribute to the history of this engine, from beginings to what cars it was in, to the different versions of it.

What I DO know is it is one of the most reliable and strongest engines every built by any company. It is an inline-6 DOHC 3.0 liter engine. Clearly it was the base engine in the 92-98 Toyota Supra making 225hp and was used with twin-turbos making 320hp. The first Lexus application was in our SC 300 coupe making 220hp. The engine was used in the Toyota Aristo, our Lexus GS 300 from 93-95 making 215hp. And when Lexus decided to bring us the Altezza, our IS 300, they shoe horned the 2JZ in as Lexus never offered a 4-cylinder car and reserach indicated 4-cylinder luxury cars are not considered luxurious. This was used in the 01-05 IS 300 making 215hp. This engine was a big selling point to tuners and the IS 300. We have had Clublexus Cars of the Month with over 700hp. 400hp is NOTHING to this engine. 1,000hp was reached on Supras and I think 1,400 plus is tops. What is incredible is the engine does not require significant work, it uses the stock block. Today, we have hundreds of turbo and now supercharged SC 300s, GS 300s and IS 300s. The turbo SC 300 was the first turbo Lexus. Tuners and members early figured out that with a few changes, they could make Supra power. We have many great members here with turbo SC 300s making 400-600hp.