Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

1SICKREVIEW!!! 1999 Toyota Solara with TRD S/C

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-05 | 06:26 PM
LexFather

Default 1SICKREVIEW!!! 1999 Toyota Solara with TRD S/C

Thats right gang, I got the opportunity to drive this sleeper. that1mexguy, a member of SELOC surprised some of us with it at our last Friday night meet. He offered me the keys to test his baby out. How could I say no?

This is my first time driving a TRD S/C Solara but I have driven a stock V-6 before and have ridden in a S/C Camry before.. His car has the TRD kit as well and a short shifter. It had been awhile since I've been in a Solara but its amazing the interior this car has for a Toyota. Well built and he replaced the wood garnish with carbon fiber.

Upon startup, you can hear the lil "whuuuurrrr" of the S/C but otherwise, it could be mistaken for a stock engine. UNTIL you let the hammer down. The car accelerates like the usual Solara until about 2500 RPM and WHAM, the S/C kicks in hard!! You have to control the steering wheel as the power to the front wheels hits aggresively, not unlike the new Altima/Maxima and TL. Since its a manual, you really can control where you want your power in. From 3-5500 RPM, the car is VERY strong, we flew by some unsuspecting people. This car is a total SLEEPER. I kept thinking "this is a Solara"? Its like knowing that cute, quiet chick in high school, who never got the attention of her more popular sister (SC). Then, 5 years later, her body fills out, the glasses are gone and IS THAT CLEAVAGE! That is how driving this car felt.

The short shift kit is just that, not as smooth as stock and not as smooth as a Hondas. The thing about it, it give the car character, as the shifts match the tone of the engine when the S/C kicks in.