Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

I test drove the IS350 today!

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-05, 05:11 PM
qtb33
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I test drove the IS350 today!

Well, first off the car had a price tag of about $45K. Which is a bit more than I want to spend but regardless, I wanted to drive it. The proximity key is pretty cool and convenient, not having to grab the key from your pocket or what have you. I'm sure we have all seen the videos of the sweet gage cluster check before start up but once again, very nice. After talking about some of the different features (and there is a lot) we got her warmed up and headed for the road.

I first left the car is "D" untill we hit the main road heading towards the interstate. I started playing with the paddles after a bit and I must say, it's still an auto at heart. On a hard pull, which it does do well, you have to hit the paddle about 500-600 rpms before you actually want it to shift. In the first three gears I tapped the rev limiter. On the plus side the shifts are smooth and graceful. The power is bold, and pretty much on tap from 2500rpms up. Coming off of a light with no power braking, 60MPH comes pretty quick with no tire spin what so ever, if the computer was helping out it did it very smoothly and I had no idea it was doing so.

On the highway it had great turn at higher speeds (80MPH) and went anywhere you pointed it with little effort. The ride of coarse was smooth yet controlled. The heated and cooled seats made it even more comfortable.