Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

best way to get a solo test drive?

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-06, 08:30 PM
rai
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default best way to get a solo test drive?

I've been testing and buying new cars for almost 20 years now.

Many times I get tossed the keys and off I go but just as often I get a sales person to watch over me.

I was wondering if there is a good way to state my preference that I want to drive solo. Should I tell them up front on the phone before I ge in? Would it be a good idea to ask ahead of time and if they say they won't let me drive solo then tell them I'm not going to stop by there are dealers all over the place...

I don't abuse the cars, but I just can't get comfortable with people sitting there watching every move I make.

Thanks
Old 10-23-06, 08:54 PM
LexFather

Make good friends with a high end USED luxury car dealer (salesmen). Some of those guys know the car will sell itself if the owner gets to flog the hell outta it....
That is my experience.

Old 10-23-06, 09:03 PM
UberNoob
Lexus Fanatic

or why not just ask them to not go with you and explain to them that you dont like the pressure of having someone trying to sell the car when you are driving

or something like that but said in a nicer way
i dont see what you can lose by asking
if no then, its their policy and you cant do anything about it anyways
Old 10-23-06, 09:22 PM
kietlander
Racer

Received 53 Likes on 38 Posts

just say u would rather take the test drive alone. they wouldnt say no. if they do say no, just leave.
Old 10-23-06, 10:23 PM
rominl
exclusive matchup

Received 190 Likes on 148 Posts

i can for sure tell you it's almost impossible to do in cali...

i was able to do it once, but that's coz' i had a very special contact
Old 10-24-06, 12:53 AM
92 SC400
Lead Lap

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by rominl
i can for sure tell you it's almost impossible to do in cali...