Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Virginia Aggressive Driving Fee Update - Traffic Deaths are Up

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-08, 09:59 PM
LexFather

Post Virginia Aggressive Driving Fee Update - Traffic Deaths are Up

Since the fees, which target drivers convicted of such serious offenses as reckless driving and driving under the influence, took effect July 1, 519 people have died on Virginia roads, 10 more than in the second half of last year, state figures show. The 2006 total was 961 traffic deaths.

Both backers and opponents of the fees cautioned that it might be too early to draw conclusions on the effect they have had on road safety, but some said the 1,000th road death is a stark reminder that in this crucial category, at least so far, results are lackluster.

"I'm not a traffic expert," said incoming state Sen. J. Chapman "Chap" Petersen (D-Fairfax), who favors repealing the fees and won office in November, in part, on a campaign that derided them. But "the fact that our highway fatalities have not decreased -- if anything, they're higher -- I think this just underscores the fact that this legislation did not make our highways more safe, which, as I recall, was one of the primary reasons . . . articulated for the abuser fees."

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn...122901663.html

Old 01-03-08, 10:22 PM
vraa
CL Folding Team Starter

Received 353 Likes on 206 Posts

If they were serious about the entire situation they'd scrap this bull**** and redesign the tests and make them realistic.

Also re-think the entire idea of enforcing incredibly low speed limits.

It's time to rebuild the system from scratch, the more we wait, the harder it'll be.
Old 01-04-08, 07:23 AM
mmarshall
Lexus Fanatic

Received 87 Likes on 86 Posts