Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

1SICKREVIEW 2007 Nissan Altima

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-09, 11:50 AM
LexFather

Post 1SICKREVIEW 2007 Nissan Altima

Its odd that this could be a very short review since I have a lot of experience with it. Its my G/Fs car as many of you know. With the lease on it ending soon, we will be replacing it and I will have another thread on what the choices are and comparing the vehicles.

She got this vehicle before we met brand new from a local dealer. Its the best car she has owned to date and we both do like it overall.

Errrrr. let me get in review mode.....

As many know I was never a fan of the Altima styling b/c it was clear they ripped off a lot of the 2GS cues and what once once an original shape with the GS became as common as salt and pepper shakers with the Altima selling in droves. So that gave me some bias against it. Up until that point I was an Altima fan....

Errrr....that intro sucks too.....
History
The Altima has come a long way. I believe it debuted in 1993 and basically looked like the poor mans Infiniiti J30. Thing is the Altima pulled off the look much better, the price was right, the interior was well built with a nice wood strip and the 150hp I-4 was suited well since the car was a "tweener" between the Corolla and Camry. The Altima SE with the 15" 5 stars, side sills looked and handled great. It sold well and in driving it, I remember how nice it was for a sub 20k car.

The 2nd gen was a big miss. They kept the "Egg" shape but squared it off. The I-4 only gained 5hp. The car wasn't much bigger inside and it was pretty much overlooked as it lost its great styling. Don't believe me, when it the last time YOU SAW a 2nd gen Altima? Exactly. Nothing to review more, it was good at being 4th or 5th best in class.