Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Toyota recalls and related issues: BusinessWeek-Media owes Toyota an apology

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-11, 04:35 AM
*Batman*
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by GiantsFan
Gas then brake = override
Brake then gas = no override.

^so launching/etc is still possible.
Thanks for clearing this up. If this is the way it is programmed, then that's pretty good.
Old 02-11-11, 11:22 PM
RY2K
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool factory all weather mats are the problem

I used to work at a Lexus dealer for 3 years as a valet and people always used to put their factory all weather mats ontop of the carpet cloth ones. I now work as a tech at a Toyota dealer for 4 years and I see the same thing, people putting their all weather mats on top of the cloth ones all the time. The factory driver's side all weather mat on all toyota and lexus models have holes in the rear of them just like the cloth ones, where the factory clips secure the mat in place, by leaving the carpet mat in there, there is no way for the all weather mat to be secure. The original mats must be taken out so that the floor clips will go through the hole in the all weather mat and keep it in place. The mats are made by weather tech and are thick so they slide ontop of the original mat very easily.

My friend at lexus told me a woman in an ES350 put her all weather mats from her lease return RX330 into her new ES350 and she crashed cause the mat got stuck on the accelerator, well the mat wasn't made for that model. I belive this was in the news.

As far *** the ecu reflash on all the cars with the gas pedal recall that is supposed shut the ignition off if the computer sees full acceleration and full braking, i.e. the override, well that didn't work. We tried that on several different cars with no results.