Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Insurance (car accident)

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-09, 01:43 AM
boshi
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Insurance (car accident)

Hey everyone!
I had my car totaled on the freeway on july 11, 2009. sandwiched D:
here are some pics for all of you that want pics

Anyways, so the other insurance is trying to make the settlement offer? or something like that, for my pain/injury/medical
So they offered to cover my medical bills (3000) and put a 2000 on top of that
so for a total of 5000
I'm not very experienced at this sort of thing and I was told to mention trauma and whatnot
They then increased it by 500 dollars
I was wondering to all you veterans out there if this is a decent price to settle on, I mean, personally I was hoping for a bit more, but im not sure what the normal price is supposed to be.
Any help would be appreciated, thankyou
Old 12-23-09, 02:19 AM
Fizzboy7
Lexus Test Driver

Received 167 Likes on 99 Posts

There are A LOT of elements that determine each case, but here's a general rule of thumb. You should get three times the amount of your medical bills for your pain and suffering. They will likely try to bargain that down, but that can be your goal or somewhere close to it. Be prepared to have a lawyer represent you, as dealing with them on your own will drive you to the nut house. They are sly and do all they can to get you to back down or go away. I am going through a similar situation that dates back to 1-08.
Good luck!
Old 12-23-09, 07:51 AM
LexusFiend
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Get a lawyer that specializes in these things .... i am sure it will help you out in the long run
Old 12-23-09, 10:55 AM
Amini9
Lexus Test Driver

no real contribution about this from me but,

nice front plate thing.. the bay bridge? Where'd u get that?!
Old 12-23-09, 10:55 AM
1993ES300x
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts