Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

1SICKTRIP-The auto experience of Jamaica

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-10 | 09:40 PM
LexFather

Thumbs up 1SICKTRIP-The auto experience of Jamaica

This is my first time visiting and when my hosts were gracious enough to drive my around nearly the entire island! So I got to see so much in a week and this included the vehicles!! This is a RHD country but you can drive LHD or RHD cars. Many are imported directly from Japan or from here.

As yall know I pride myself in my auto knowledge so I was eager to see so many cars we don't get!! It was really fun. I am also on the local car forum there (of course lol) and this was fun, our very own D2 has a car recently imported there. Sadly I did not get to see it.
https://www.clublexus.com/forums/is-...rs-cousin.html

Okay on to the review. First the roads which are seemingly all one lane roads with a few two lane roads in the city. There are not many traffic lights and in less desirable sections, there is an unwritten rule that you can go through the red light once you check for traffic, the cops won't bug you. To me there were two types of roads;
-pretty fantastic and recently paved roads
- roads seemingly hit by a meteor shower .

It seems everyone has memorized where these pot holes are (they are abundant) so people drive pretty fast and avoid them. Speaking of driving fast, there is no slow or medium there. Only fast!! Driving in Miami, Atlanta or New York has NOTHING on here. You have to HAUL ALL *** 100% of the time. It is a HUGE slap in the face to our moronic laws here that make people think speed kills.

I did not see ONE single accident. Not one. And EVERYONE drives aggressive.