Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Help me pick a ~$35k car (LONG)

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-10, 06:22 AM
geko29
Super Moderator

Received 297 Likes on 228 Posts
Default Help me pick a ~$35k car (LONG)

I've got an E46 323i that'll be 10 years old in September, and I've been telling my wife for several months that I'll need to do some major suspension work in the spring. Combine that with new tires in the coming fall, and that means roughly $2500 investment in the car this year, where the total investment over the past nine years has been around $1500, including oil, brakes, and tires. It's been a spectacularly reliable car, needing only a resistor, battery, and alternator replaced over the entire nine years I've owned it. But the impending expenses has my wife wondering if we shouldn't just replace it early (this year rather than 2012-13). She makes valid points in that it's an older car, we don't know what repair expenses will be coming, is getting a little small for us, and the interior is starting to show some wear (especially the driver's seat). The flipside of buying earlier is we have to go a little cheaper. My first choice of a new car is a CTS-V, but that probably wouldn't happen even three years from now. So I'm exploring options between $30-40k with a target of $35k, and here's what I'm looking to do:

Requirements:
-New or late-model used (nothing older than 2006, the newer the better)
-Comfortable for four 6-footers. The usual occupants are myself (6'4"), my wife (5'11"), my father-in-law (5'10") and a 2 year old who'll be tall enough for most roller coasters (42") by the end of this year.
-Nicely equipped.
-Bluetooth for phone calls at a minimum.
-Better than average reliability.
-Reasonable fuel economy--I'm not expecting a Prius, but don't want to average <18mpg either.

Strong preferences:
-RWD
-Manual transmission
-Fun to drive
-Bluetooth for audio streaming