Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Life after the Toyota 3.5 engine?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-10, 01:42 PM
pagemaster
Lexus Champion

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Life after the Toyota 3.5 engine?

I am just curious as to know if anyone knows what is going on a Toyota with the 3.5 and what is going after it ends if life cycle. This is not a knock of the 3.5 as it might very well be one of the best Toyota engines ever made. I have had some experience with it and it is outstanding

Anyone know what is next after the 3.5?
Old 02-08-10, 02:09 PM
spwolf
Lexus Champion

Received 161 Likes on 119 Posts

i doubt GR is going anywhere, anytime soon ;-).

Engine is rock solid, what will happen is probably that technology from high end lexus vehicles will trickle back to rest of the range, and at the same time, IS/GS/LS are probably going to get some updated version of the direct injection and maybe even Valvetronic...

I doubt that actual engine design will change in next 5-6 years at least...
Old 02-08-10, 02:15 PM
Och
Lexus Champion

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

I think the engine got a good decade of life in front of it. Much like the original 1UZ engine evolved into the 3UZ, the same will happen with GR. Toyota will improve, fine tune and perfect it in years to come.
Old 02-08-10, 02:15 PM
pagemaster
Lexus Champion

Originally Posted by spwolf
i doubt GR is going anywhere, anytime soon ;-).

Engine is rock solid, what will happen is probably that technology from high end lexus vehicles will trickle back to rest of the range, and at the same time, IS/GS/LS are probably going to get some updated version of the direct injection and maybe even Valvetronic.....
So you think no chance of getting larger like the 3.7 Nissan or 3.8 Hyundai.

I doubt that actual engine design will change in next 5-6 years at least.