Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Questions on the IS300

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-11, 10:42 PM
Berzie
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions on the IS300

I'm new to the idea of owning a Lexus. I currently own a 1991 Acura Legend coupe that I've taken very good care of and have done a lot of work to. Problem is, I'm a fully emancipated adult paying for just about every expense I have, and the car is turning into a money pit. So why am I asking about a newer, more expensive car? Because I think a monthly payment would be better than constant maintenance costs. My Acura a fabulous car, but it needs a lot of work. So, I'm toying with the idea of a post-2002 IS300. I want to know if it would serve well as an impoverished sport-luxury enthusiast's daily driver. I'll be able to keep up with fluid changes and other basic maintenance, but major repairs would only make me kick myself for selling my current ride. I drive ~30 miles a day, to and from school and work. I have a garage to keep one car in, and am a huge automotive enthusiast. Is this car a good fit?

Moderators: I'm pretty sure this is the correct forum to post this in, if not, feel free to move it as needed.

Thanks guys.

-Berzie

Last edited by Berzie; 03-16-11 at 11:25 PM.
Old 03-16-11, 10:48 PM
GiantsFan
Lexus Fanatic

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

Lexi are generally very realiable. Never owned an IS300, but owners can tell you about it... I'm sure mmarshal will chime in with his thoughts (or you can PM him) - he does car reviews.

You should also check out the 1st gen IS (IS300) section.
Old 03-16-11, 10:52 PM
RXSF

Received 73 Likes on 44 Posts

I have a 2002 IS300. Its not my favorite car that I have owned. Ill give you some pros and cons and hopefully this will help.

Pros:

Car is very eager to go fast, one of the few cars I have owned that feels faster than it is