Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

MM Critique.....They don't build them like they used to.

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-11, 09:51 AM
mmarshall
Lexus Fanatic

Received 87 Likes on 86 Posts
Default MM Critique.....They don't build them like they used to.

I've been driving and checking out cars since the 1960's, and I sometimes get asked what I think are the best automotive improvements in my lifetime. In fact, just this afternoon, I was at a nice traditional classic-car show with a couple of my friends, and caused me to ponder the question myself a little.

Of course, compared to the cars I grew up with, there are some things that I DON'T like about today's cars...the smaller sizes, firmer seats, generally firmer rides (I tend to like size and cushy-comfort), overly-plastic interiors/trim, lack of real spare tires, etc..... But, in general, cars today are much-improved, and, except for the cushier-rides, interior space, and (some) better interior materials of yesteryear, I'm not sure I'd want to go back to
the cars of my youth.

So, in general, cars today, as just stated, are much-improved. There have been, of course, hundereds (even thousands) of automotive improvements over the decades since I started driving, and I couldn't possibly mention every one here in just one thread. But, if I had to pick ten of the most significant and most important car-design improvements over the years of my lifetime, this would be it. These, to me, have done more than any others to make car ownership and driving a better, safer, and more-pleasing experience. Of the ten, I will list them in order of what I consider the least-important (IMO) to the most-important.

(You readers, of course, are free to agree or disagree with all or part of this list, or to suggest some auto-industry advances which you feel are more important than the ones I listed). But I myself feel very strongly about these Top Ten.

10. Dent-resistant Body Panels