Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Car Shopping Advice Please?

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-13, 10:13 PM
CDNROCKIES
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Car Shopping Advice Please?

Hi guys.

I've been doing a much longer commute for the past 6 months and continuing to put 1000 km per week on the X5 and 750 simply needs to stop....lol.

We've decided to pick up a third vehicle that can take on the commuting mileage (90% highway miles, fwiw). Right now I'm torn between something that is fun/reliable/reasonable priced vs. purely practical/reliable. I have read many of the threads that I could find over the past year but would appreciate some more feedback. I will test drive most if not all of them this weekend.

The first set of cars that I'm leaning towards include the Lexus CT, FR-S/BRZ, STi and A3.

Obviously, the CT would have the best mileage and most luxury. Our experience, overall, with our RX and IS F definitely draws us back towards Lexus. I am concerned about the lack of power but the excellent gas mileage may be enough to offset this.

The FR-S/BRZ sounds like it's a ton of fun to drive, while still getting reasonable gas mileage and (hopefully?) typically Toyota reliable. Rear wheel drive wouldn't be as optimal in heavy snowfall I imagine, but I could always take the X5 when it gets especially bad (like todays foot...lol).

The STi would likely be the most fun to drive. The 6-speed appeals greatly to me but the wife is unable to drive one and apparently isn't interested in learning. It would also have the most interior room, especially if we went with the sedan.