Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Looking Into An IS 250 AWD '08

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-15, 08:28 AM
blueboxdoc
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking Into An IS 250 AWD '08

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on here so I apologize if this is the wrong section for this (went to the IS area and it seems to be all about modding and maintenance, which is all good but not what I'm currently looking at).

My uncle owns a car dealership and over the weekend got in a 2008 IS 250 AWD. I don't have an official count, but the miles are about 130,000. Last I heard they want $8,000 for it (can probably try to get a couple hundred off).

I don't know much about these cars so I did a crash course in research of them this weekend. I understand complaints that there isn't enough power, but at the same time I'm driving around in a Chrysler Cirrus and sometimes an Oldsmobile Intrigue (which is actually pretty similar with 200 hp and the same weight, but then the similarities end) so I'm not huge into speed. What I prefer is something with responsive handling. I don't like to float down the road, and for that reason I'm also interested in a 2015 Mazda 3 i Touring (I know, they are different types of cars).

So I was wondering a few things:

1. How is the handling?

2. Is it boring to drive?

3. How is the reliability?

4. What sort of things should I be looking for in terms of wear (other than obvious like hoses and belts) that may be specific to this vehicle?

5. How much are repairs (I'm assuming because they're part of Toyota, parts shouldn't be rare to come by or overpriced to repair like a German car, but I could be completely wrong)?

6. I never had AWD so I'm not sure what I should be looking for in terms of wear with the AWD system.

7. How is the visibility (are there any giant pillars that create big blind spots)?