Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

GM-Authority forum publicly calls for a Bronco-Sport Rival.

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-21, 08:41 PM
mmarshall
Lexus Fanatic

Received 88 Likes on 87 Posts
Default GM-Authority forum publicly calls for a Bronco-Sport Rival.

This more or less mirrors what I've been saying repeatedly for the last two years. (and, as often happens, was panned for saying it). I recently did a full-review of the Bronco Sport (see the review in Car Chat), but feel that this article deserves a new thread rather than simply attaching it to the review, since it ultimately deals with another (hypothetical) vehicle, a potential Bronco Sport competitor.

Although the exterior size would be a little larger than my needs (which the Encore GX fits perfectly), I might consider one as a future purchase, particularly if they do it with the GMC nameplate (maybe a future Jimmy?), as I tend to prefer GM products over Ford (the Lincoln MKC and Corsair, which I liked, were rare exceptions). I doubt if Buick, my favorite nameplate of all, would actually do a Bronco or Bronco-Sport competitor.......very few Buick buyers would ever go off-road. Buick's future in the U.S. may (?) also be on borrowed time.

https://gmauthority.com/blog/2021/11...erday-opinion/

GM Needs A Ford Bronco Sport Rival, Like Yesterday: Opinion

• We are currently looking for experienced automotive journalists and editors to join our team. Make $60k-$80k per year doing what you love. We are also looking for an experienced web developer. See details here.

Sponsored Links

The success of the Ford Bronco Sport after nearly a year on the market shows that GM needs to answer with a rival. For the time being, The General seems content on letting Ford and Jeep duke it out in the increasingly popular rugged compact crossover segment, but it shouldn’t be. We’re here to address exactly that in today’s GM Authority Opinion Desk.