CT 200h Model (2011-2017)

Coil Issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-19, 03:57 PM
Grifter77
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coil Issue

Ok Everyone this is my first time working on a hybrid so yeah... My Girlfriend has a 2012 Ct200h and has been having on and off issues.
unfortunately before we were together she was well taken advantage of buy her local mechanic and they had her replace her engine with a used engine when she was having issues., but the issues never went away
recently it popped a code for bad coil in 2 & 4 then it was just #4.
she kept taking it back to the shop because they carried the warranty. but after it sitting there for 3 weeks they sent it home with a new coil in #4 because they couldn't replicate the error of #2

Now its showing a code error in #2 again and its ridging rough ( like going on shudder strips ) so I was going to replace it myself. I have hear that it can be difficult getting top the plugs and coils on this model is that true?
and I know on my old V8 truck it wasn't as simple as 1->8 in series am I going to luck out and its just 1 to 4 left to right on this model?
Old 11-05-19, 06:50 AM
eddie25
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

No it's easy as pie. You just need a 10mm socket. Remove the engine cover (just pull it off) remove the electrical connector on the coil. Undo the nut and pull the coil out. I think you are correct about the order but I'm not 100% positive.
Old 11-05-19, 08:15 AM
E46CT
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2,187 Likes on 1,641 Posts

The coils are easy as said, assuming your issues are really the coils. That's extremely rare as the coils are low duty, low wear items, especially on a hybrid engine that is not even on half the time.

Are you sure it's not misfires? A misfire due to a compression/leak and/or HG problem would be more likely. You can also swap the coils and reset the code to see if the problem moves w/ the coil. If so, you 've got your answer.