ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

My tranny is about to be toast

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-05, 04:55 PM
juan01
Pole Position

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default My tranny is about to be toast

Well, I brought my car to the stealership earlier this week and they said that they might have to rebuild my tranny for $2,500. I have only 88,000 miles on the odometer, though I think some of the problem stems from me neglecting regular transmission fluid changes. Not only including that, I can't remember how many times I "neutral dropped" it when I first got my driver's license way back when I was 16. There are a bunch of other things that need to be worked on, including the brake system and the timing belt. I am no mechanic, so I cannot and do not have the time to work on this myself. There is only one dealership on Guam, the rest are a bunch of independent shops. So right now, my only choice is to shop around and see what kind of deals I can get. If worse comes to worst, I might just have to sell the car as is... which means I will be selling it for dirt cheap basically.

If it comes to that, I don't know if I should sell the car with all the mods I have on it, or should I strip it down and then sell it? I am in Guam, so it will be hard to send the stuff off-island to anyone who might be interested in buying parts from me, the most difficult being the aero parts.

*sigh*

I will be making a feeler thread for everything I have on sale, *just in case* I decide to sell the ride stock.

Anyway, what do you guys think I should do? Rebuild or sell?

https://www.clublexus.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=181673 - feeler thread
Old 10-06-05, 05:16 PM
Pheonix
Lexus Champion

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Cool

What are the symptoms, is it slipping?
It's cool, we've all done it. I can't count the number of 10mph reverse drops into 2 at WOT I use to do.