ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

2002 Camry vs ES300

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-01, 07:47 PM
CokeBear

I just got finished looking at the specs and pictures for the 2002 Camry and ES300. Wow! I am extremely impressed with the Camry but really disappointed with the ES300. The Camry has all the major options offered on an ES, GPS, wood trim, VSC and in-dash CD changer. The only material difference I found was 18 more HP, Rain sensing wipers, HID, Adaptive Variable Suspension and Rear Sun Shade ! It's certainly not a $5,000 difference.

I currently have a GS4 however as a former ES300 driver, I have always defended the ES300 when others call it just a Camry. After looking at the 2002 ES300 and Camry, I must now concede and question why anyone would buy a 2002 ES300?

IMHO, Toyota has just devalued their Lexus brand name by the introduction of the 2002 Camry and indirectly told us how invaluable we are to them.
Old 09-21-01, 12:55 PM
jwaters
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Don't forget about the water repellent front door glass, the 5 speed automatic vs. the Camry's 4 speed, the Regency leather (same as in the LS430) covered seats, the "real" wood trim as opposed to plastic in the Camry, the 240 watt Mark Levinson stereo system in addition to more sound insulation, better paint quality, warranty, service and dealer treatment. Those things make it worth it for me at least.

Last edited by jwaters; 09-21-01 at 12:58 PM.
Old 09-21-01, 04:47 PM
SecPole14
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally posted by jwaters