ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

Newbie needs audio help

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-02, 11:13 PM
jewelberry
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Newbie needs audio help

Hey Guys, newbie here needing some help with audio stuff.
Have a 95 ES300 and can't get the rear deck speaker grills off (Trying to put in new 6x9s). Are they attached with clips cause if it they are, I must not be strong enough. Looking in from under the trunk I do see some screws sticking out with square shaped bolts holding them but can't seem to turn them - are these holding the grills in place?

I am in the process of upgrading my whole audio (nothing fancy) but I'm not quit sure where to start because I am not sure how the factory setup is wired .I heard from somewhere that there is a multi-channel amp under the passenger seat...is it true? If yes, can I use it with a new head unit?

How can I accesss the speakers located on top of the dash corners near the winshield (I am assuming there are 4" mids in there), to replace them.

Where are the x-overs for the front side speakers located?

Are there any wiring harnesses available for new head units to fit lexus dash?

Any advise will be appreciated.
Replacements currently holding, not yet installed (nothing fancy-just want better quality|):

Nakamichi cassette head unit (single din)
Nakamichi in-dash 5disc changer (single din)
Pioneer 200w 4-way 6x9 (rear)
Two 4ch fosgate amps
6.5" /4" /1" tweeter Component Speakers (not bought yet..any suggestions)
Old 05-23-02, 12:21 PM
1loudlex
Chicago Lexus Club Moderator