ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

head Gasket replacement soon?

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-10, 10:57 AM
jami1
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default head Gasket replacement soon?

I found something out about my car that I am not too happy about, on sunday I put coolant in the tank because the tank was empty, Today I checked it again and its empty, I do not see white smoke in the tail pipe, and I do not see blue smoke either, Everything is running fine, Car runs great.

I am just learning about cars, but I dont think its normal for the tank to be empty, Where did the coolant go?

Any advice is appreciated oh, I have a 1998 es300. going to hit 190100 miles soon.
Old 04-08-10, 01:24 PM
JSM1284
Lexus Test Driver

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

Is the radiator full? If not, its sucking the coolant from the overflow tank to fill itself.
Old 04-09-10, 05:42 AM
jami1
Rookie

I checked under the radiator cap and there is fluid in there. I am going to put some more in today and see how long it takes to be empty again.
I do not notice any puddles when I move from a parking space.
Old 04-09-10, 01:26 PM
jami1
Rookie

ok- update..

I checked the coolant again toady, there was brown stuff at the bottom of the resevoir..
doesn't look like oil though I am not sure it was also empty so I put more coolant in it today, I am going to keep my eye on it at the same time I am also going to take it to my mechanic tonigth to have it checked, as he is checking the AC at the same time.

I am hoping I wont need a new engine soon, I can't afford it.
Old 04-09-10, 02:25 PM
BoostedE21
Pole Position

Brown "stuff" is pretty typical of older cars. No huge worry there, but you could always flush your system. The coolant system is pretty much the only one you can run water through with the engine running.