ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

Do I have HID lights??

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-10, 09:03 PM
orion603
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Do I have HID lights??

Hello all. I am a newbie and car illiterate and hopefully I get an answer here.
I've tried searching an answer but couldn't really get the answers I needed.

I have 2005 ES 330 and RX300. I can tell I have HIDs on my RX but I am not sure if I have HIDs on my ES. If I don't, how can I tell if I just halogen lights?

Do I tell by auto leveling feature that my RX has? All HIDs have auto leveling feature?

If I don't have HID bulbs, can I just buy HID bulbs and replace them with HIDs without replacing the housing or any harness?

Thanks for your answer in advance.
Old 04-14-10, 09:07 PM
masagsxr
Lexus Test Driver

You should be able to tell by the bulb you have. How about try taking it off.
Old 04-14-10, 09:14 PM
GoodRevs
Instructor

Received 46 Likes on 27 Posts

This is real simple to answer, is the light that's emitted yellow or white? I shouldn't say that though, because I have a friend whose color blind, so if you have trouble telling post up a night time picture and we should be able to tell you right away.
Old 04-14-10, 09:17 PM
orion603
Rookie

Originally Posted by GoodRevs
This is real simple to answer, is the light that's emitted yellow or white? I shouldn't say that though, because I have a friend whose color blind, so if you have trouble telling post up a night time picture and we should be able to tell you right away.

there's definitely difference between RX and ES's colors. ES is more yellowish. If that determines halogen bulbs, can those bulbs be replaced with HIDs without additional parts?

Thanks!
Old 04-14-10, 09:35 PM
GoodRevs
Instructor

Received 46 Likes on 27 Posts

Originally Posted by orion603
If that determines halogen bulbs, can those bulbs be replaced with HIDs without additional parts?