ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

1998 ES300 Knock Sensor Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-11, 06:02 PM
CTieken
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1998 ES300 Knock Sensor Replacement

I am kind of a beginner working on cars. I have worked on older trucks and tractors so I do know how to use a wrench. I got this car about a year ago and I changed the timing belt, alternator, battery, windshield wiper motor, window motors and have updated a lot of things in the car. So now onto knock sensors, I have read other posts saying not to do the knock sensor yourself because it is a very hard process, and others say just take off the manifold and a few hoses and your right where you need to be. I am hoping someone with experience of doing this themselves could give me some insight. In the end I will have to do this myself since i'm a broke college student trying to make this car last me til i get my mastors. So if anyone could help me I would really appreciate it.
Old 02-10-11, 06:54 PM
GEORGE_JET
Lead Lap

If you have allready replaced your timming belt, you should have no problem with the knock sensors. Is one, or both of them bad? If only one is bad, you could wire both inputs to the good sensor. Having two knock sensors, especially since they are physically so close, is rather redundant.
Old 02-11-11, 07:07 PM
CTieken
Driver School Candidate

It has two, the gadget at Auto Zone said they both need to be replaced. Thanks for the info. I guess i'll give it a try sometime this weekend.
Old 02-11-11, 08:14 PM
PFB
Lexus Champion

Received 44 Likes on 39 Posts

You can double check to see if they are defective by testing them as follows:

Using an ohmmeter, check that there is no continuity between the terminal of each knock sensor and its body. The ohmmeter reading should indicate an open circuit. If there is continuity, replace the knock sensor.